Milan 2016

The centrepiece of the Milan 2016 exhibition is the new Sofa in Sight upholstery collection, which presents six sofas by six designers: Michael Anastassiades, Konstantin Grcic, Faudet-Harrison, Matthew Hilton, Lucy Kurrein and Terence Woodgate. The collection is a showcase of SCP’s unique modern upholstery making.

Since 1991, SCP have been creating iconic upholstery designs at their specialist factory in Norfolk, England. Working to a very high standard, SCP have led the way in the British industry, both in developing fully sustainable pieces, and in retaining traditional making techniques. Foam has been phased out of the production process, being replaced with renewable materials such as wool and natural fibres. The result is a more complicated design process, but ultimately a more rewarding one too.

The Sofa in Sight upholstery collection explores the idea of the modern sofa itself and as a consequence raises questions about comfort in the modern home and workplace. Each designer has responded very differently to the same brief and through their ideas and concepts, we get to explore what the sofa actually is, what it has been and what it may come to be in the future.


Location, Dates & Times

Stand D43, Pavilion 16
Salone Internazionale del Mobile
Quartiere Fiera Milano, Rho

12 – 17 April 2016
9.30 am – 6.30 pm

New Furniture and Textiles

SCP also present new furniture designs from Matthew Hilton, Faudet-Harrison, Reiko Kaneko, Peter Marigold, Michael Marriott, Oscar Coakley and Donna Wilson, alongside an entirely new textile collection by Hannah Waldron.

Products being launched for the first time include free-standing wooden shelves by Matthew Hilton and an upholstered powder-coated steel lounge chair by Reiko Kaneko. The shelves are available in either oak or walnut and come in tall, medium or low versions. The lounge chair has a generously upholstered seat and back, wooden arm rests and a slim steel frame.

SCP will showcase some of the highlights from the SCP Classics collection launched in 2015. Including designs from Jasper Morrison, Konstantin Grcic and Matthew Hilton.